Reoccurring Dream

“Reoccurring Dream” is The Onus Quintet’s sophomore release. The recording finds the band, some three years after its inception, exhibiting the sort of vitality and cohesiveness that comes only with time. With the spontaneity and sensitivity of a veteran chamber ensemble, The Onus brings vividly to life a program of original compositions and creatively arranged standards that probe the mysterious, liquid realms of dreams. The album includes original compositions by Tony Haywood, bassist Matthew Parrish, guitarist Jeff Ray, and Harper. Harper also contributes arrangements of Mingus’s “Nostalgia in Time Square”, Cole Porter’s “Night and Day”, and Johnny Mercer’s “Autumn Leaves”.

Praise for Reoccurring Dream

“Harper…has effectively staked his claim as a clarinet modernist”
–David Adler, New Music Box

“[Their work] speaks confidently with poise and maturity and that clearly has something to do with the empathy that Harper and cohorts have developed over the past…years together working as a unit.”
–Chris Hovan, All About Jazz

“Plenty of crisp, tasteful post-bop interplay…
… an introspective tone that charms the ear as much as the exotic timbres do”
–Lee Gardner, Baltimore City Paper

“Harper’s writing is…richly melodic and…refreshingly inventive.”
–Geoff Himes, The Jeffersonian

Track Listing

1. Nostalgia in Times Square
2. Kiss Me Again
3. Reoccurring Dream
4. Night and Day
5. I Wonder
6. Letter to My Brother
7. Falling Leaves
8. Narcolepsy
9. Caliban’s Nightmare

Listen on

Listen to Track 6: Letter to My Brother